My 2016 Year in Review

My 2016 Year in Review
I can’t wrap my head around the fact we’re now counting hours to 2017. It’s been a year filled with lots of changes – I switched careers, celebrated my one-year anniversary and began building a new brand, to name a few.

Though 2016 had its fair share of downs, the ups far outweighed them; and I couldn’t be happier with the outcome.

 

CAREER:

My 2016 Year in Review 2

Many of you know that in 2015, I left my career as an elementary teacher that I had spent the last 9 years of my life working towards. Though I loved my students and the wonderful people I worked with, I wasn’t fulfilled, and I wasn’t happy.

Thinking back on making the decision to not only quit my job, but also leave my career in education feels like a blackout. I remember being terrified to tell my boss, overwhelmed while packing up my entire apartment, elated that I had moved back to New York, and then at a loss for what in the world I was going to do next.

I made the decision to start my blog in what I like to call my “retirement phase”, aka the 6 months I spent going back and fourth about the new career path I wanted to go down – this time, for good (I think?). As with many things in my life, I got hooked, and dedicated 200% of my time to building what is now Pineapple & Prosecco.

After some serious decision-making skills and a great connection, I started a new career in marketing and graphic design, which I supplement with my blog. It’s a career that I love and hope I never get tired of, and one that allows me to still feed my passion on the side.

 

BLOG:

My 2016 Year in Review 3

I often get asked, “When did you start your blog?” and the truth is, I don’t really know. It was some time around January of 2016 when I the idea of starting a blog first sprouted – but then came the web and content design, photography, social media accounts, official launch…the list goes on.

We’re gonna go with January 2016 to make things easy though.

Pineapple & Prosecco has come quite far in a year, but my proudest moments were being featured on LaurenConrad.com, on Target and signing on to blog for The Bachelor’s Becca Tilley.

I’ve learned a lot about web design (with the help of my designer, who is to thank for P&P’s new site design), gotten better at photography, started to re-define my brand and learned perhaps the most important lesson of all in my first year – which is my worth as a digital content creator.

If I could give one piece of advice to myself in the first month that I started blogging and wanted to work with each and every brand that reached out, it would be to remain forthright – to be selective – to say no.

 

RELATIONSHIP:

My husband Joe & I celebrated our one year anniversary in April 2016. Talk about a crazy first year of marriage; we settled in, got married, quit our jobs, moved out, moved back in (in NY this time), started new jobs, and now we’re here.

There are times when marriage is hard, like when one of us has to take one for the team and do the grocery shopping for the week, or when I really want to watch Bravo but he wants to watch Football. Yes, I’m being sarcastic, but really – after all of the stress and changes we’ve been through in the past year, marriage has been the easiest part.

We’re now nearing that phase where we’re on the hunt for the perfect house, which I’m sure will bring lots of excitement and lots of stress in 2017, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

 

FRIENDS + FAMILY:

My 2016 Year in Review 4

This year we welcomed two new nieces into the family, coincidentally named Bella & Stella. Of course, we also got bombarded with plenty of “You’re next’s!”, which I will continue to roll my eyes at until I am in fact, ready to be next.

On the other hand, it was a tough year for friendships. We’re at that stage where everyone is scattered all over the place and friends are taking the next step in their careers and/or relationships. For that reason, coupled with the fact that we both started new careers and adding on the fact that none of our friends live locally, our social lives earned a solid D-.

Safe to say that we’re going to have to work on that in 2017.

 

WHAT’S IN STORE FOR P&P IN 2017?

My 2016 Year in Review 6(via I Spy DIY)

There’s lots of new hitting the blog in 2017! I have some super exciting collaborations in the works, along with a re-brand of sorts launching in the next few months! Pineapple & Prosecco will also be narrowing down its focus a bit, which I’m super excited about.

Additionally, you might have noticed that my Blogging Resource Library officially launched last week! I’ve been working around the clock on some great content focused on branding, social media growth and productivity – exclusively for bloggers.

If you haven’t already signed up for exclusive access to the resource library and Friday coffee chat, you can do so here!

Pineapple & Prosecco will also be bringing on some new guest bloggers, along with publishing a bi-weekly newsletter with exclusive content tailored to all of you wonderful readers! 

 

AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST, CHEERS TO YOU!

My 2016 Year in Review 6

You all have been the most incredibly supportive group of humans I’ve known to date, and I am thankful for that more than I can ever put into words.

I am so incredibly lucky to call many of you my friends, and can’t wait to see what 2017 has in store for us!

Cheers 🙂
AboutPageSignature

Share:

27 Comments

  1. January 8, 2017 / 5:21 pm

    Congrats girl! It’s so inspiring to hear that you quit your job for your passions! I’m starting to consider that, since I’m also a teacher feeling similarly to how you were! So excited to see where the new year takes you! Cheers!
    -Laurelle
    http://www.bellebylaurelle.com

    • January 13, 2017 / 11:28 am

      Thanks Laurelle! I didn’t know you were a teacher too! Being in the ever-changing education field definitely is NOT easy. Thanks for the well wishes love!

  2. January 5, 2017 / 6:28 pm

    Wow 2016 has been a crazy ride for you! I love reading this post and you give me motivation to not give up on blogging. I can’t quit my job even when I want to because of fear! I wish I had team what can help me rebrand! I can’t wait to read more and learn from you! Have a great year!

    Linh
    http://www.xcapewithlinh.com

  3. January 5, 2017 / 11:58 am

    2016 was such a big year for you! And, I have to say I love your new blogging resource library – it’s such a great idea. So glad I met you this year friend, and cheers to a fantastic 2017!

  4. January 5, 2017 / 10:45 am

    Sounds like 2016 was a busy year for you! Props on mustering up the courage to change careers – it’s not an easy thing to do. Love your blog & can’t wait to see what 2017 will bring 🙂

    Christina | http://www.cuddlepill.com

    • Danielle
      January 5, 2017 / 11:47 am

      Ahh it totally was Christina! Definitely was not easy to change careers but I’m so glad I made the leap. Thanks for sticking with Pineapple & Prosecco…can’t wait to see what 2017 will bring too! xo

  5. January 4, 2017 / 9:22 pm

    Aw I love this! Sounds like such a great year !!!

    • Danielle
      January 5, 2017 / 11:46 am

      Thanks, Morgan!

  6. January 3, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    This post filled me with so much emotion! You’ve had quite the roller coaster of a year and I can definitely say that you’ve become a huge inspiration to me in blogging and in life. I’m super blessed that IG brought us together as friends and I can’t wait to get to know you better and watch your career skyrocket in 2017!

    Stephanie // SheSawStyle.com

  7. January 3, 2017 / 1:52 pm

    Sounds like you’ve made all the right choices in the last year as well as having been blessed in so many ways! I’m truly happy for everything you’ve done and gone through and I’m sure 2017 will keep going on the way 2016 left you off with!
    xoxo
    Thomas

    http://thomasfalkenstedt.com

    • January 3, 2017 / 3:29 pm

      Everything truly did fall in to place and I’m loving where it landed me. Thanks for the inspiring words love, xo!

  8. January 3, 2017 / 10:21 am

    Such an amazing year for you! I’ve actually checked out your Blogging Resource Library and I’m tagging along for your Pinterest challenge! So far, so good! So happy for you and all your accomplishments and I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

    xoxo Bryanna | Coming in Clutch

    • January 3, 2017 / 3:28 pm

      Such a great year – crazy – but great! So glad you’ve joined the resource library & the Pinterst challenge! I’ve got lots of great resources in store over the next few months 🙂

    • January 3, 2017 / 3:25 pm

      I did, Emma, but all good things in the end! Wishing you a great year ahead as well love 🙂

  9. January 2, 2017 / 9:58 pm

    You were a teacher?! Fun!
    Sounds like an amazing year 😊 Wishing you an even greater one this year 🎉

    • January 3, 2017 / 3:23 pm

      I was! Such a 180 from what I’m doing now! Thanks for the well wishes & cheers to 2017 love!

  10. January 2, 2017 / 8:19 pm

    Looks like you had quite a year full of ups and downs! I can’t wait to see what’s next on your blog and I wish you nothing but the best in 2017! :]

    • January 3, 2017 / 3:23 pm

      It was definitely quite the year, Deborah! Can’t wait to see what’s in store as well! Cheers to 2017 🙂

  11. January 2, 2017 / 6:20 pm

    Happy new year!! Congrats on your past year and new career- seems so fitting for you 🙂 that’s amazing that your blog is only a year old too. Good luck! Xoxo

    • January 3, 2017 / 3:21 pm

      Same to you love! It’s crazy how much can happen in a year, but I’m so glad how things turned out 🙂

  12. January 1, 2017 / 5:01 pm

    Happy New Year!! How exciting your blog is already one year old. Excited to see what you have in store for it in this upcoming year!
    xoxo,
    Amy | Pastel N Pink

    • Danielle
      January 1, 2017 / 5:28 pm

      Same to you, Amy!! It really is so crazy how fast year one went. So excited to see what unfolds this year as well 🙂

  13. January 1, 2017 / 11:07 am

    Happy New Year! I really loved reading this post. You’re right – a lot of us did experience similar ups and downs in 2016. I didn’t realize you left your career in teaching. I completely understand that feeling 😉

    Here’s to a fabulous 2017! <3

    Jackie
    Something About That

    • January 1, 2017 / 11:08 am

      Thanks Jackie! Yes! It was a whirlwind of a year with lots of changes – but all for the good! Happy New Year love!

  14. January 1, 2017 / 8:25 am

    Great review, it is great to hear that you had the strength to quit your job and start the career of your dreams!
    ♡ Kristina
    TheKontemporary

    • Danielle
      January 1, 2017 / 10:58 am

      Thanks Kristina! It was definitely not an easy decision but I’m so glad I made it in the end!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *